Wrapping It Up: Films I Watched in May

How is it May already? Hopefully this month I will get around to watching a bunch of films with my friends, especially as soon we will be allowed into people’s houses.

High School Musical 3

We needed some nostalgia and graduation feels, so what better film to go for than High School Musical 3.

Lemonade Mouth

A theme of this month is that my friend got Disney+. I never had Disney Chanel when I was younger, so I had never watched this film. It was fun and easy to watch. It was a great way to spend bank holiday Monday.

Shazam

This film had a really slow start, but then suddenly it became one of the funniest films ever. I really enjoyed the film, the characters, and the character dynamics. I particularly loved the younger sister. It is definitely the best DC film.

CoCo

This is a Disney film that I missed when it first came out and I finally got around to watching it. The song ‘Remember Me’ is one of my favourite Disney songs, so it was nice to be able to see it in the context of the film.

Things Heard & Seen (2021) - IMDb

Things Heard and Seen

This horror film annoyed me. It did not do everything that I hoped it would. It was not a bad film, but I think it could have been so much better. I liked that it challenged who the villain is, but I didn’t love the supernatural elements and the execution of these moments felt a little bit cringe. A lot of horror films have a similar message, it did not feel very unique. Also, the film gave the main character an eating disorder but did not do much with that – I found that very strange.

Bridget Jones’ Baby

We finally got to the third film in the series. I can now say I have seen every Bridget Jones film. I really enjoyed this one. It is definitely better than the second one. I loved the romance, this film has so many moments that were just amazing and swoon worthy.

Their Finest

I watched this film for history revision. It was an interesting film. I enjoyed that it explored how films were made during the war and I also liked the focus on women and the importance of their stories.

Ma (film) - Wikipedia

Ma

This film had some great moments, but, in general, it didn’t live up to my expectations. Basically, only the ending is actually horror, however, I think it went a bit far. Not with the horror, but with the presentation of Ma. I think that at the end of the film, they made her too crazy. Instead of her being a complex character, she became a caricature of a mad person.

Camp Rock

A classic and great film. I watched the film so much in my childhood and it was great to watch again. This film is overall just a great time. I don’t know why but I just love the vibes of the film, the camp feels so chill. Although, I will say that some of the dancing in this film is questionable.

Leave a comment