Why I’m Not Watching The Time Traveller’s Wife

I love romance. I love science fiction. I love science fiction romance (About Time is a great film and This Is How You Lose The Time War might be the most romantic book I’ve ever read. So surely you’d think that The Time Travellers Wife would be perfect for me. At least that’s what I thought when I read the book last year. Yet, I was very disappointed.

Mainly because this book is not a romance. It is a metaphorical tale about child abuse and grooming. The premise is literally a man telling a young girl that they are destined to be together and her falling for it until they eventually get married. That is the most problematic plot ever. It is so problematic that it only could have only been published in the early 2000s. It had to be published in the era of toxic fictional relationships. Yet, at least other novels from this period (like everyone’s beloved Twilight) are fun.

I am absolutely baffled how someone could have decided to make an adaption of this story in the post-me-too era. In fact, I feel like what was needed was an anti-Time Traveller’s Wife TV show. Now is the perfect time to explore just how toxic the romances we grew up reading and watching were. Seriously Netflix needs to get onto this concept cause I’m sure it would be a massive hit with the 20plus-year-olds who survived this era.

One thought on “Why I’m Not Watching The Time Traveller’s Wife

Leave a comment